5 Hours produced 20 prints

© Stephanie Cloutier

How did you spend your Saturday? I spent my Saturday working and making art. For five hours, I worked in the school’s darkroom to print my final assignment for photography class. I produced 20 prints. Most of them are duplicates of the same image but each were timed differently, so each print is a unique print.

I’m exhausted. I love to print but I also hate it. I dislike being on my feet for hours, trying to adjust my eyes to the low light, and play the guessing game of “will this print be ok or not?” However, I did enjoy printing during in the last couple of months and I’d like to do more in the future. Printing is one of those artistic skills I want to get better at.

This particular series is about texture and abstract images. I’m very inspired by the photography of the Abstract Expressionists, especially those of Harry Callahan and Aaron Siskind. My original series were more closely connected to Callahan’s street photography and his use of light and shadow. However those negatives got ruined because of an exhausted developer (Damn it!) I had to reshoot and there were no beautiful sunny days in the forecast to reshoot exactly what I had shot. So, I spent Friday morning, in the drizzling rain, shooting walls in the downtown core with Siskind’s photos of graphic images in mind. I like Siskind’s work, and I’m attracted to graphic design anyway so it was my ode to his work. Below is what he shot and hopefully, I was able to capture his beautiful work with my own.

Aaron Siskind

Aaron Siskind

Aaron Siskind

Aaron Siskind

Aaron Siskind

Aaron Siskind

I found a few interesting looking brick walls with peeling paint, wood and metal. Even though the subject itself is banal, I hope that the graphic elements of these walls will be consistent and present in my series.

Now, the only thing left to do is to mount my prints for the final presentation. I’ll be doing that tomorrow, along with another assignment due this Wednesday for our critiques. The home stretch is here!

One comment

Leave a Reply

