School’s out. Again!

I’m back!

I never really left but I had a good excuse for being quiet.

I wrote my exam for my art history class this morning and now, I can officially say that my vacation starts now! Summer school is done! I have two months of glorious, warm and sunny weather to enjoy and I can’t wait to sink it all in. That means quality time spent outdoors, and hopefully outside of the city, too.

This past weekend I spent some quality time on the island, a magical place that’s minutes from downtown and a place I love. I spent time with friends and saw a beautiful sunset. I need more of that in my future.

sunset-to-island

But September isn’t far from my mind. The due date for picking my classes is fast approaching and I’m trying to figure out which class I think I might enjoy. It’s both exciting and frustrating. There’s a lot of them I want to take but I can’t manage the workload of more than four courses a term. In second year, I have access to many fabrication studios like metal or bronze, but I’m unsure as to what I want to create or what materials to use. I know that I’m attracted to paper and textiles, which is a start.

I also hope to tackle my personal work. With no assignments or essays looming in my horizon, I can finally dedicate some valuable time to work on my own stuff. In my last post, I mentioned that I was prepping for some art shows but I didn’t reveal what those shows were. Well, the first one is the Kensington Market Arts Fair. It coincides with the monthly Pedestrian Sunday events, and the May inaugural event brought in a lot of visitors. I’ll be showing my embroidery work (and hopefully selling them) in September and October. The second show I’ll be doing is at a café in Toronto where the artwork that decorate the walls is curated by my lovely friend, Julia.

So, I have a lot of work ahead of me for the next two months and I’m excited about that. I have ideas I want to try, techniques I want to experiment with, and now I have precious and valuable time to do so. There’s no time to waste, let’s get stitching!

2014-06-05 07.11.29-2

Leave a Reply

