Reading Week and Waterfalls

Reading Week has begun and I’m so happy for the break. I need a break. However, I have plenty of homework to get through, including a presentation for a group critique scheduled next Monday. I have no idea what I will be doing for that project but I’m not stressed about it. It’s a weird feeling but one that I’m familiar with. I’ve been thinking about the theme for the project so I’m hoping that as I get closer to the date some concrete ideas will materialize. In the mean time, I am forging through with my other assignments and I feel like I’m organizing my time well, or better than when I started in September.

IMG_4383

This past weekend was our Thanksgiving holiday, which meant a long weekend for most. I still had to work (no 9-to-5 hours for me) but I had a holiday dinner with my parents on Sunday, which was small and nice. On Saturday, my friends and I headed to the Waterfall Capital of the World: Hamilton.

What I already didn’t know about Hamilton is that it’s the home of 120 waterfalls, and most of them are found on the Escarpment. When you think “waterfall”, you naturally think of Niagara Falls. Sadly, none of them are that big in Hamilton. The largest waterfall is Albion, which is quite pretty. And also quite popular.

Processed with VSCOcam with lv01 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with lv01 preset

It was the perfect autumn day: warm, cool, blue sky with very little clouds. The leaves had already turned, and to see the reds, oranges and yellows in the trees is so beautiful to see. It was great to be outside of the city, too. The Albion Falls are located in the middle of the Bruce Trail, which is a gorgeous space that stretches from Niagara Falls to Tobermory.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with lv01 preset

I haven’t touched any of my embroidery stuff in weeks. I miss it. However, right now, I’m trying to knit a toque in time for winter. We eat our turkeys early in the season only because the winter settles in quickly.

Leave a Reply

