You were a peach, 2014!

Just in time to submit my last post for 2014!

As you may have noticed, I have been neglectful of this blog for the past couple of months. School is the ultimate culprit. As you might have guessed, I finished my term in mid-December and since then, I’ve been hibernating and it feels good to do so. I’ve spent my break organizing my messy house, reading, and watching a lot of movies at home and at the theatres. So far, I’ve seen The Imitation Game, Birdman, Big Eyes, and The Gambler–don’t bother seeing the latter with Marky Mark, it’s horrible.

During the break, I had the intentions to finish building my website, launch my Etsy shop and work on some art but as soon as I finished my final projects, I didn’t want to make anything. And that’s fine. I don’t need to be making art all of the time. I’m not a cog in the art machine. If I were, I would feel drained and uninspired to do anything for a long time. I loved my time vegging on the couch.

My second term starts next week and I’m looking forward to it. A new set of classes are a great way to get creative and to tackle ideas I’m curious about. I still don’t know what kind of sculpture I want to do but I want to try and figure this out. I know that I want to do textiles, which I’ve experimented with, but I want to build things in wood and metal, too. But that’s what school is about, right? Figuring that stuff out. IMG_1769 IMG_1745

For me, 2014 was a good year with some rough patches. I felt like I got into the swing of things at school when I started in September. I felt more comfortable being a full-time student but I still struggled with getting involved in class discussions. On the flip side, I got to meet other students who are smart, creative and fun, and it’s been great to get to know them better.IMG_2006

This year, I ventured into the world of selling my artwork and it was intimidating, but it was a good lesson for me. I have a better idea of how price things, how I should value my work, how to organize for a show and how to present it. I definitely want to do another show like KMAF but I also want to submit to more group art shows at school to get my work out there.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetphoto-3

In terms of health, I feel good but I know that I can do better. I had a few scares, not major ones luckily, but minor ones. A big wakeup call was my mother’s cancer diagnosis. I had to consider what I was and wasn’t doing for my body. Luckily, my mother is now cancer-free and has bounced back to her former healthy lifestyle. There isn’t a doubt in my mind that her healthy lifestyle pre-cancer enabled her to recover so quickly. I’m super grateful that she’s here, along with my dad who supported her during her treatments. I want to be healthy like my parents when I reach their age and I know that it starts now. The things I’ve done include eating less meat, and not just on a weekly basis but on a monthly basis, too. I’ve cut back on a lot of foods that don’t make me feel well, including alcohol. At the moment, biking and walking is my only exercise, but I want to hike more. There’s so many trails in and around the city that I want to explore. Also, another reason why I want to exercise more is that I want to walk the Camino in Northern Spain in May 2015. This means I have to start hiking–and soon! If that isn’t a great incentive, I don’t know what is!Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

In terms of friends, I’ve lost a few but gained others. In terms of love, it was a tough year getting over a broken heart. I’ve learned to appreciate those who are around me. I have also learned to stand up for myself more, as well as to stand my ground to those that may dislike me or want to hurt me. I have learned to appreciate myself more and to acknowledge that I am good enough. The latter may seem obvious but I have noticed that if I don’t tell myself this, I forget it when times are tough or just plain shitty.

IMG_1592 IMG_1603 IMG_1604
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
IMG_2677 Processed with VSCOcam with lv01 preset Processed with VSCOcam with lv03 preset

I’m super grateful for the opportunity to do what I want to do. Travel is still a big goal of mine, and for 2014, I traveled as far as my budget allowed me to. Buffalo was my “big” travel destination, but I also went on a road trip with good friends, and had many, many visits to the beach on the Island. Nothing wrong with that.

So, with this, I say goodbye to 2014 and hello to 2015!

Leave a Reply

